Appraisal Institute of Canada Elects New President and Directors to Board of Directors

The Appraisal Institute of Canada (AIC) is proud to announce that Dan Wilson, AACI, P.App has been elected as AIC president for 2013-2014. In addition, several new Designated Members will join the Board of Directors, as ratified by AIC-Designated Members during their Annual General Meeting held in Calgary on June 8, 2013.
Mr. Wilson is the owner and principal of Jackson & Associates Ltd, a large appraisal and consulting firm on Vancouver Island, specializing in both commercial and residential sectors. He has been an active volunteer with AIC for over ten years, and was elected to the national AIC Board of Directors in 2010. Since his tenure on the board, he has held several leadership positions within the Professional Practice Committee, Audit and Finance Committee, Insurance Committee, and Executive Committee.
"The Appraisal Institute of Canada welcomes Dan into the role of National President. His vast experience on day-to-day issues related to real property appraisals and keen sense of the needs of the membership will continue to advance the profession, keeping AIC's education and professional practice as a benchmark within the industry," states Keith Lancastle, chief executive officer of AIC. "Our board is comprised of Designated Members from across Canada who have diverse skills and expertise. Each member is dedicated to leveraging opportunities to serve our Members and Canadians on issues that relate to real property valuation."
The 2013-2014 AIC Board will be leading several new initiatives in the upcoming year, including launching a new website ( to promote its members, advocating on behalf of the real property appraisal profession, releasing the 2014 version of the Canadian Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (CUSPAP) and defining members' professional competencies to augment AIC's education program.
Joining Mr. Wilson on the AIC Executive Committee are:
Scott Wilson, AACI, P.App - President-Elect - Prince Edward Island
Daniel Doucet, AACI, P.App - Vice President - New Brunswick
Dan Brewer, AACI, P.App - Vice President - Ontario
Dave Shum, AAIC, P.App, Fellow - Past President - Alberta
New Board Members include:
Glen Power, AACI, P.App, Newfoundland
John Manning, AACI, P.App, Alberta
Dan Jones, AACI, P.App, British Columbia
Ernie Paustian, AACI, P.App, Alberta
Returning Board Members include:
Richard Colbourne, AACI, P.App, Nova Scotia
Thomas Fox, AACI, P.App, Saskatchewan
Anne Helliker, AACI, P.App, Ontario
Paula Malcolm-Schaller, CRA, Ontario
Surinder Pal, AACI, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Louis Poirier, AACI, Montréal, Québec
President Wilson thanked departing directors, John Farmer, AACI, P.App from Alberta; John Peebles, AACI, P.App from BC; Greg Bennett, AACI, P.App from Newfoundland; and, past-president, Michael Mendela, AACI, P.App, Fellow from Ontario for their commitment and years of service to the Institute.

on June 21, 2013